Nascent Ideas


Cows n Carbon
July 28, 2007, 10:49 am
Filed under: ecology, Inspiration, Pop Culture

A bit of a wander off topic here from what I’ve normally been covering on my blog now, I’ve been thinking a lot recently on the environmental impact that cows are having. One recent tidbit of information I read recently said that around 2lbs of beef has the same carbon footprint as driving a family car for 150 miles at 50mph. This is due to the amount of methane produced by the cow, transportation, slaughtering, refrigeration etc etc. Apparently, around 20% of the worlds pollution is created by cows. I was talking about this with a friend yesterday and we agreed that this figure is useless without having a comparison to other animals. Does a cow produce more pollution than a pig per lb of meat? I don’t really drink milk (I never have done, I had to have flavoured milk as a baby even) but I do really like a steak. I’m not massively eco but I don’t drive, don’t fly much and I try to be a little bit green, are all these things pointless if I have a steak every so often?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

