Nascent Ideas


Global Cities at Tate Modern
July 28, 2007, 2:13 am
Filed under: Art, Inspiration, Pop Culture

Global Cities looks at the changing faces of ten dynamic international cities: Cairo, Istanbul, Johannesburg, London, Los Angeles, Mexico City, Mumbai, São Paulo, Shanghai and Tokyo.”

I went to see this exhibition in the turbine hall at Tate Modern today, one of the better ones they’ve hosted I felt, informative, interesting and engaging. I didn’t have my camera with me so I’m afraid you’ll have to make do with the few photos I took on my phone camera. I also visited the Design Museum because i’d read they had an exhibition on Helvetica. What they actually had was approx 12 framed prints in their cafe…

One of the most interesting pieces visually was a large map made up of famous landmarks from some of the cities featured in the exhibition, recreated out of weird objects. One of my favourites was Canary Wharf made out of biscuits.

These were the outlines of four cities showing where their population was distributed. An interesting piece of information that I didn’t know before was that London isn’t at it’s peak, population wise. The peak was reached (if I remember correctly) at around 1939 at approx 1 million higher than today.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

