Nascent Ideas


Relax Magazine
July 28, 2007, 11:19 am
Filed under: Art, Design, Fashion, Illustration, Inspiration, Magazines, Music, Pop Culture, Toys

Possibly my favourite magazine of all time – despite not being able to read any of it – Relax covered everything I liked. The only magazine I could compare it to would be Grand Royal magazine and sadly neither are with us any more. I’d guess you could classify them both as lifestyle magazines, everything from art, fashion, music through to more esoteric subjects like Mos Burger and a regular section on “kakutougi” (what the Japanese call mixed martial arts events and disciplines like the UFC). I found a good little archive of a few Relax covers at nmca that probably sums up the wide range of things that it covered. I’ve managed to pick up around ten or so issues, when I have time i’ll get around to scanning some pages, possibly alongside some covers from Grand Royal as I have access to every issue.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Yeah, Relax Mag was terrific. I used to buy it more that ten years ago and even if I wasn’t able to read it too, I found them all the contents I loved (MoWax, Futura, Spike Jonze, Mike Mills…). I think that the only Mag I’ve love more in my life was The Face that has been really important for me.
ciao_
b > uc

Comment by urbancamou




Leave a Reply

